Expectations

Nothing will ruin your
twenties more than thinking
you should have your life
together already.


Get good grades, go to university, get a degree and a decent paying job, buy a car, get a credit card, have savings, settle down, get married, have children…
So much pressure to get straight into having everything sorted out, no time to enjoy the little things or to just breathe.
No wonder so many people are experiencing anxiety with the amount of stress we are put under. In my hometown of Newcastle, Australia you would have to be a millionaire to own a home as the market is just disgusting. Has been for years now and it is only getting worse. I have no hope of buying a house anywhere near a city or anywhere that was up and coming because I would have to be a drug dealer to even put together a deposit. It costs roughly $700,000 – $900,000 for a house in Newcastle at the moment. I’d have to become a drug dealer to buy a house in my hometown! It’s crazy how expensive it is to live let alone save for a house.
More and more people are being pushed to outback towns where there is very little work.
Who made life so hard? I feel like I have put so much pressure on myself because O don’t have the slightest thing figured out. I am 22 and I am yet to discover who I truly am, so why do I continue to punish myself for not having this, or not having that when in reality we all should just take a second to look around. Everyone is so rushed and stressed out all because they don’t feel like everthing is in order.
What I say to this is “fuck it.”
I dont want to spend this year feeling shit because I don’t have my cards all lined out in order. I want to enjoy each day as they come and be proud of even the tiny steps I take in my journey. I don’t think we all should live that ‘norm lifestyle’ because we are all so different.

XOXO DaiseyDropper

8 thoughts on “Expectations

  1. I’ve always disagreed with the expectations society puts on everyone. The standard get good grades, go to college, get a good job speech is a mundane and dreadful one. That’s crazy how expensive it is just to buy a house where you are, they’re already expensive enough but wow! Kind of ironic though that not having all your ducks lined up in a row is usually the most freeing thing you can do for yourself. Like you said, I wouldn’t worry too much, you’ll figure it all out on your own terms eventually and be happier because of it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m trying to live life by doing what works for me. But its not so easy since we live in a social world and its hard not to compare yourself or feel judged by others for not having similar values.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A much better aspect for life Phil. I don’t want a life that’s shaped from “the norm” of society. I don’t think we should all follow lead of others and waste life away worrying about unnecessary crap. I don’t ever want a credit card for obvious reasons. I also know for a fact I won’t buy a house in the future.
      So I’m with you. But I also get people have dreams and goals for these things. I just aspire to be more than a bill payer. Hope all is well xoxo DaiseyDropper

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to feel this way all the time. And then I realized I was feeling like this because I kept comparing my life to everyone else’s and when I stopped doing that, I was so much happier. And I don’t think we ever truly figure ourselves out no matter how old we get.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this! Thank you Marissa. This is true, no use having those who judge the way we do things affect how we view our own lives. I am beginning to love that I am an individual and have very different views to others. We are all so very unique.
      XoXo DaiseyDropper

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I think its also important to remember that a lot of the times we compare our true selves to other’s social media portrayals which aren’t indicative of their true selves either. Most people don’t choose to share the bad days or the pieces of themselves they don’t like, so we’re constantly trying to live up to perfect standards when outside of Instagram model feeds and fashion blogger’s home pages, perfect doesn’t actually exist. Sorry, went on a little bit of a tangent, but I want you to know you’re special and unique and you don’t have to live up to anyone else’s standard of perfect except your own. (:

        Like

Leave a Reply

